The Champions of CJ

Cyril Jackson Senior Campus through the current senior campus model and before, as Cyril Jackson Senior High School, enjoys a rich history and a strong cohort of former students.  Students of the school have made a great contribution across a number of domains including government and public service, industry, the Arts, sport and the professions.  We would like to have a strong relationship with our former students and hope they would identify as alumni of the school.

To seek to acknowledge former students who have achieved in their journey since school, in 2021 Cyril Jackson SC has developed the concept of the Champions of CJ.  A Champion of CJ may also be a staff member or community Board member who has provided distinguished service to the school and its students.

The first Champion of CJ is former principal, Ms Lorraine Hams.  Ms Hams was the principal at the transition of Cyril Jackson from senior high school to senior campus in the early 1990s.  It was her strategic vision, innovative thinking and drive to succeed that led the then government to endorse the transformation.  The establishment of the senior campus second chance model has enabled many students to study in a mature environment and to position themselves for a better future.  It is fitting to name Lorraine Hams as the first Champion of CJ.

In 2022 the initiative will continue with the intention, each year, to recognise five Champions of CJ.  An opportunity for alumni of the school to nominate a Champion of CJ will be put in place.

2021 Champion of CJ

Ms Lorraine Hams

Picture (left to right): Milton Butcher, Principle Right Lorraine Hams, 2021 Champion of CJ and ex principal of CJSC